Versatile interfaces with strong and tunable light–matter interactions are cornerstones for quantum science as they enable the mapping of quantum properties between light and matter. Single atoms are ideal quantum emitter of the light fields, as their only possible dissipation channel is the coupling to the electromagnetic vacuum. more

Methods to control and readout multilayer systems are scarce and unreliable, but highly desirable to access quantum simulation of layered materials or to improve detection and manipulation of two-dimensional systems. more

André sucessfully defended his doctoral thesis on "Ultracold Strontium in State-Dependent Optical Lattices" on June 26th, 2020.

We warmly congratulate you André and wish you all the best for your future!


On June 23rd 2020 Toni successfully defended his doctoral thesis on "Probing Quantum Thermalization and Localization in Bose-Hubbard Systems".

Congratulations Toni! more

Topological phases of matter have attracted a lot of interest due to their unique electronic properties that often result in exotic surface or boundary modes, whose existence is rooted in the non-trivial topological properties of the underlying system. In particular, the robustness of these properties makes them interesting for applications. more

The periodic driving of both classical and quantum systems can reveal new phenomena without an analog in non-driven systems. Nonetheless, periodically driven systems do not fulfill energy conservation, which means that many-body systems will absorb energy from the drive and, eventually, heat up to an arbitrarily high temperature, what is known as "heat death". more

Dr. Christian Schweizer has been awarded an Outgoing LMU Research Fellowship. He was also selected to participate at the 70th Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting. Congratulations! more

Go to Editor View