Kevin receives Young Scientist Award by the RPTU Kaiserlautern

September 29, 2023

The faculty of Physics at the Rheinland-Pfälzsiche Technische Universität Kaiserslautern-Landau has awarded the Young Scientist Award 2023 (Nachwuchspreis) to Kevin P. Mours.
After his studies at the Technical University of Kaiserslautern, Kevin carried out his master thesis "Cavity assissted quantum feedback loops on the atomic scale" in the group of Dan Stamper-Kurn at UC Berkeley. In his thesis he investigated the interaction between a collective ensemble of Rubidium atoms coupled to a high-finesse optical cavity. As a main result, he and his colleagues were able to tailor the interaction in a way to build an autonomous feedback system that steers the collective spin to a pre-defined energy state. The results enable a new way to autonomously control a quantum system.
In November 2022 Kevin joined the division of Professor Immanuel Bloch and started working on the MQV atoms project. With his colleagues he tries to overcome the current challenges on the way to build a working quantum computer.
The Young Scientist Award by the Faculty of Physics at the RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau and the "Helmut-Ehrhardt-Stiftung für Physik" is awarded to young scientists for outstanding scientific research during their masters as well as commitment to advocate for student interests. Congratulations Kevin!

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View